Prayer Flags are flown to promote peace, compassion, strength and wisdom. The practice of putting up prayer flags dates back to the 11th century and has a lot of significance. 




The five colors are arranged from left to right in a specific order Blue, White, Red, Green, Yellow: 

         Blue: Water

         White: Air

        Red: Fire

        Green: Earth

         Yellow: Space

Prayer Flags are colorful rectangular cloth with prayers and mantras of Lord Gautam Buddha. It is believed to bring benefit to all

Prayer Flags are mostly placed or strung in all the ancient Stupas, Pagodas, Monasteries, also along trails and peaks high in the Himalayas. Traditionally the mantras and prayers are believed to be sacred so they should not be placed on the ground or used as clothing.

Symbolism and Tradition.

The mantras and prayers are believed to bring long life of good fortune for the person who mounts the flag.  Prayer flags are used to promote peace, compassion, strength and wisdom.    It is believed that the prayers and mantras will be blown by the wind to spread the goodwill and compassion in to all pervading space. Therefore prayer flags are thought to bring benefit to all.  As wind passes over the surface of the flags, which are sensitive to the slightest movement of the wind, the air is purified and sanctified by the mantras.   All beings are part of a greater ongoing cycle. Life moves on and is replaced by Life’s change and new life. Therefore people renew their hopes for the world by continually mounting new flags alongside the old.

Prayer flags are connected with the notions of spreading purity and goodness. Prayer flags are a force capable of attracting good circumstances in a person’s life, as well as improving the person’s mind and inner well-being. In addition,  prayer flags can also be offered in the memory of a deceased loved one, in order to help the deceased in their new existence.

Color and order

Traditionally prayer flags come in sets of five, one in each of five colors. They are arranged from left to right in a specific order: blue, white, red, green and yellow. The colors represent five elements and the five pure lights. Blue symbolizes the water, white symbolizes air, red symbolizes fire, green is earth,yellow symbolizes space.

Each roll of prayer flags consists of over 100 flags which is hoisted from the top of the stupa to the bottom.

The balance of five elements produces health and harmony.

Close Menu